by: Brooks Warren   12/11/2017

Washington D.C. ~ On the final day of the D.C. Classic, host Gonzaga High School finished off Roman Catholic to earn its second straight title in the prestigious tournament. The day was filled with notable accomplishments as Myles Dread scored his 1000th career point and Chuck Harris had a coming out party. 

The Purple Eagles won 71-53 against Roman Catholic behind the contributions of Myles Dread (20 points) and Chuck Harris' career high 18 points. The Cahillites were led by Lynn Greer III (15 points) and Seth Lundy (10 points). 

The Purple Eagles and the Cahillites were tied early in the opening quarter after Seth Lundy hit a 3-pointer when it looked like the game was going to be more of a back-and-forth affair. From there Gonzaga ripped off an 8-0 run and never looked back. Chuck Harris reeled off eight quick points, sending a message to Lynn Greer III that he was coming at him all game. The lead would balloon to as many as 21 late in the second quarter when Myles Dread delivered a dump-off pass to Terrence Williams to create a 54-33 lead on the back another 9-0 run to end the second half. 

Just in the second quarter alone, fireworks were about to go off as Seth Lundy went forehead to forehead with Malcolm Dread as Lundy was talking trash. Just before that Myles Stute and Lundy were battling in the post and words exchanged when the younger Dread was subbed in for Stute. The moment seemed to have gotten him out of zone as he didn’t do much else the rest of the game. In the second frame, older brother Myles was able to showcase his playmaking skills and improved shooting when on his 3-pointer and dropped off a trio dimes. 

In the second half it was more of the Gonzaga show as sophomores Harris and Terrance Williams took over in the fourth as they scored 15 combined points. Myles Dread scored his 1,000th point off a floater in the last moments of the game, getting a standing ovation from his teammates and the crowd. His three-game stretch over the weekend gave him the MVP award of the tournament as well as all-tournament selections of Chuck Harris and Terrance Williams. It was rounded out by Ayinde Hikim, Donovan Toatley, Steve Cannady, Terry Dawkins, Blake Preston, Seth Lundy, Lynn Greer III, Chuck Harris, Terrance Williams, and the MVP.